Latest

Bolt passengers can now cancel ride on app if driver decides to take trip offline

Dar es Salaam. Bolt has introduced a new cancellation option on its app in an effort to deter users of its platform from taking offline trips and paying off the app.

The move seeks to enhance the safety and well-being of riders.

“Through the move, riders will now be able to cancel a trip by selecting the option ‘driver asked to pay off-the-app’ under specific circumstances,” Bolt said yesterday.

“This feature empowers riders to take immediate action should they encounter situations where the driver asks for payment for a trip outside the app, requests payment exceeding the agreed-upon trip fare, or encourages cancellation of the trip to go offline,” said the Bolt operations manager, Mr Munira Ruhwanya.

The company, he said, discourages both drivers and passengers from exchanging contact information or arranging offline rides through its platform.

“This practice contradicts the safety and reliability standards we strive to maintain for our community,” he said, noting that when drivers and passengers go offline, vital safety features such as GPS tracking and in-app SOS assistance become inactive, leaving users without access to crucial safety tools.

To ensure safety for both drivers and passengers, both passengers and drivers are encouraged to take advantage of the safety features provided in the app’s Safety Toolkit. These features are specifically designed to operate during active (in-app) trips.

Bolt is committed to providing a secure and reliable ride-hailing experience for all users. The introduction of the new cancellation reason option reinforces this commitment, offering riders a powerful tool to prioritise their safety.